

SCA Public Issues Committee MINUTES October 9, 2024 – 7:00 PM Virtual

1. Welcome and Roll Call

Public Issues Committee (PIC) Chair Chris Roberts, Shoreline, called the meeting to order at 7:01 PM. 28 cities were represented (<u>Attachment A</u>). Guests present included: Councilmember Ariana Sherlock, Newcastle (PIC Alternate); Amy Tsai, Redmond staff; Katie Kuciemba Halse, Bellevue staff; Tania Mondaca, King County staff; Jessica Werner, Moon Snail Consulting; Tia Yarbrough, King County staff; Erik Rundell, King County Metro; Corey Holder, King County Metro; Genevieve Jones, King County Metro; Amanda Pleasant-Brown, King County Metro; Julie Horowitz, Public Health Seattle & King County; Michael Perez, Public Health Seattle & King County staff; Joy Carpine-Cazzanti, King County staff; Maythia Airhart, Hazardous Waste Management Program; Michell Mouton, Hazardous Waste Management Program; Dave Ward, Hazardous Waste Management Program; and David Bayne, Hazardous Waste Management Program.

2. Public Comment

Chair Roberts asked if there was anyone in attendance who would like to provide public comment. Seeing none, Chair Roberts closed the public comment portion of the meeting.

3. Approval of the July 10, 2024 PIC Meeting Minutes

Chair Roberts asked for any questions or amendments to the minutes of the September 11, 2024 PIC meeting.

Councilmember Jared Nieuwenhuis, Bellevue moved, seconded by Deputy Mayor Harry Steinmetz, Des Moines, to approve the September 11, 2024 PIC minutes. There was no discussion. The motion passed unanimously.

4. Chair's Report

PIC Chair Roberts acknowledged those being affected by Hurricane Milton and commended government officials in affected areas for their hard work.

Chair Roberts reported that three current Nominating Committee members expressed their intent to continue serving on the SCA PIC Nominating Committee for an additional year, and the Chair had reviewed statements of interest submitted by individuals interested in filling the vacancy for the North Caucus representative.

Chair Roberts appointed the following members to the 2025 PIC Nominating Committee:

- Mayor Troy Linnell, Algona, representing the South Valley Caucus
- Councilmember Amy McHenry, Duvall, representing the Snoqualmie Valley Caucus;
- Councilmember Ruth Pérez, Renton, representing the South Caucus; and,
- Paul Charbonneau, Newcastle, representing the North Caucus.

5. SCA Update

This item was not discussed.

6. Youth Action Plan

Councilmember Ariana Sherlock, and co-chair of the Children and Youth Advisory Board introduced the topic of King County Youth Action Plan Update 2025-2035. Jessica Werner with Moon Snail Consulting and Tia Yarbrough with King County DCHS provided members with a presentation covering the Youth Action Plan update process, draft recommendations, and next steps. At the November meeting, CYAB members will vote on the YAP Update, after which DCHS will submit the approved plan to the Exec's Office and King County City Council in early 2025. SCA staff will continue to update.

7. RapidRide Prioritization Plan

King County Metro staff presented the RapidRide Prioritization Plan and final tier recommendations for new Metro lines through 2050, alongside a progress report on the K and R lines. The Plan identifies three tiers of lines for development, based on updated corridor evaluations, pre-planning studies, and stakeholder input. Metro outlined the analysis and criteria that prioritized eight lines. Metro is developing a RapidRide funding strategy and SCA staff will continue to update.

8. Public Health Environmental Services Division Rates

Staff from the Environmental Health Services (EHS) Division of Public Health – Seattle & King County presented the proposed rate increase for its services. EHS staff reported that the increase is intended to secure adequate funding for rate-based EHS programs, to cover service costs and maintain effective public health protections. This change will affect permit fees for food establishments, pools, on-site sewage systems, solid waste facilities, pet businesses, and other sectors. If approved by the Board of Health in October, the new rates will take effect on January 1, 2025.

9. Hazardous Waste Management Program

King County Hazardous Waste Management Program staff provided an overview of the Hazardous Waste Management Program, discussed recent rate planning, and introduced 2025 legislative priorities. Staff reported recent rate planning for 2026 was delayed in order to find time for the Program to conduct a rate study before any rate changes are made. However, noting that without a rate adjustment, the Program's Local Hazardous Waste Fund will drop below reserve levels by 2029.

Group held discussion. There were no actions to report.

10. SCA Legislative Agenda

This item was moved up on the agenda, after Item 4. SCA Senior Policy Analyst Andie Parnell provided an update on the development of SCA's 2025 legislative agenda.

In response to member question, Senior Policy Analyst Andie confirmed that the Legislative Committee will adjust the agenda as needed during the process. The legislative committee will

meet next later in the month. Members were asked to provide SCA staff with their cities' respective legislative agendas and priorities as they become available.

11. Levies and Ballot Measures

This item was moved up in the agenda, after the SCA Legislative Agenda item. PIC Chair Roberts asked members for any future or potential levies and ballot measures in their cities. Cities were encouraged to share their respective levies and ballot issues with SCA staff.

12. For the Good of the Order

There were no items for the good of the order.

13. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 8:56 PM.

Public Issues Committee Meeting October 9, 2024

City	Representative	Alternate
Algona	Troy Linnell	David White
Auburn	Nancy Backus	Tracy Taylor
Beaux Arts Village	Aletha Howes	
Bellevue	Jared Nieuwenhuis	Dave Hamilton
Black Diamond	Tamie Deady	Kristiana de Leon
Bothell	Carston Curd	Rami Al-Kabra
Burien	Kevin Schilling	
Carnation	Jim Ribail	
Clyde Hill	Steve Friedman	
Covington	Joseph Cimaomo, Jr.	Kristina Soltys
Des Moines	Harry Steinmetz	Yoshiko Grace Matsui
Duvall	Amy McHenry	Rick Shaffer
Enumclaw	Chance LaFleur	Corrie Koopman-Frazier
Federal Way	Susan Honda	Lydia Assefa-Dawson
Hunts Point	Joseph Sabey	
Issaquah	Tola Marts	Victoria Hunt
Kenmore	Nigel Herbig	Melanie O'Cain
Kent	Bill Boyce	
Kirkland	Kelli Curtis	John Tymczyszyn
Lake Forest Park	Lorri Bodi	Tracy Furutani
Maple Valley	Sean Kelly	Dana Parnello
Medina	Michael Luis	none
Mercer Island	Dave Rosenbaum	Ted Weinberg
Milton	Shanna Styron Sherrell	Tim Ceder
Newcastle	Paul Charbonneau	Ariana Sherlock
Normandy Park	Eric Zimmerman	Sue-Ann Hohimer
North Bend	Errol Tremolada	Suzan Torguson
Pacific	Vic Kave	
Redmond	Melissa Stuart	Osman Salahuddin
Renton	Ruth Pérez	Valerie O'Halloran
Sammamish	Amy Lam	Sid Gupta
SeaTac	Jake Simpson	Iris Guzmán
Shoreline	Chris Roberts	John Ramsdell
Skykomish	Henry Sladek	
Snoqualmie	Cara Christensen	Louis Washington
Tukwila	Tosh Sharp	Armen Papyan
Woodinville	David Edwards	James Randolph
Yarrow Point	Katy Kinney Harris	

Cities present at the meeting are **bolded**. Voting representatives present are highlighted.