

SCA Board of Directors Minutes

January 27, 2012 Renton City Hall Conferencing Center 1055 South Grady Way, Renton 98057

- Pete Lewis, SCA Board of Directors Past President, called the meeting to order at 3:42 p.m. Members Present: Dini Duclos, Chris Eggen, Mia Gregerson, Dave Hill, David Johnston, Matt Larson, Denis Law, John Marchione, Jamie Perry, and Bob Sternoff. Members Absent: Don Gerend and Ken Hearing. Staff Present: Deanna Dawson, Monica Whitman, Doreen Booth, and Kristy Burwell.
- 2. The Consent Agenda was moved by Denis Law and seconded by Dave Hill. The motion passed unanimously.
- 3. Executive Director Deanna Dawson presented a letter from the 2012 SCA Board of Directors Nominating Committee recommending Officers for 2012 SCA Board of Directors. Pete Lewis asked if there were any questions. There were none. Dave Hill moved, seconded by Chris Eggen, that Denis Law be elected as President, Bob Sternoff be elected as Vice President, Don Gerend be elected as Treasurer, and Jamie Perry be elected as Member-at-Large to the Executive Committee.
- 4. Bob Sternoff moved, seconded by Matt Larson, that Executive Director Dawson be elected as the Secretary to the Executive Committee per SCA Bylaws Article 5.9. The motion passed unanimously.
- 5. E.D. Dawson explained that there is a 2012 Banking Resolution and Certificate of Incumbency for each of the four banks in which SCA has accounts. Bob Sternoff moved, seconded by Matt Larson, to adopt the Banking Resolutions and Certificates of Incumbency, which instruct Bank of America, HomeStreet Bank, Umpqua Bank, and US Bank to recognize Board officer authority for bank related tasks. The motion passed unanimously.
- 6. E.D. Dawson asked members to review and sign the Conflict of Interest Statement to be kept with SCA records. A copy of the Conflict of Interest Statement is provided in the 2012 SCA Board Binder.
- 7. E.D. Dawson presented the draft 2012 SCA schedule of Board meetings and Networking Dinners for the members to review. Jamie moved, seconded Denis Law, to adopt of Dates for 2012 Board Meetings and Networking Dinners. The motion passed unanimously.
- Dave Hill, member of the 2012 PIC Nominating Committee, gave a report on the December 21, 2011 and January 26, 2012 meetings concerning vacant seats on the Emergency Management Advisory Committee (EMAC), Mental Illness & Drug Dependency Oversight Committee (MIDD), PSRC Economic District Development Board (EDDB), Regional Water Quality Committee (RWQC), and King County Flood Control District Advisory Committee (KCFCDAC).

Dave moved, seconded by Matt Larson, that Renton Councilmember Greg Taylor be moved from alternate to member of EMAC, that Federal Way Deputy Mayor Jim Ferrell be appointed to the vacant alternate position of EMAC, that Kent Council President Dennis Higgins be moved from alternate to member of MIDD, that Kirkland Councilmember Dave Asher be appointed to the vacant alternate

position of MIDD, that Kent Council President Dennis Higgins be moved from alternate to member of EDDB, that Renton Councilmember Rich Zwicker be appointed to the vacant alternate position of EDDB, that Black Diamond Councilmember Craig Goodwin be moved from alternate to member of RWQC, that Kent Councilmember Elizabeth Albertson be appointed to the vacant alternate position of RWQC, that Duvall Mayor Will Ibershof be appointed to the vacant alternate position of KCFCDAC.

- 9. The Board went into Executive Session to discuss matters of potential litigation.
- 10. The Board reconvened without taking action at the Executive Session. The meeting adjourned at 3:56 p.m.